The 101st Annual Radio Club of America Awards Banquet will be Friday, November 19th at the Park Central Hotel in New York.  This one-day event will include a cocktail party at 5:30 p.m. followed by dinner at 6:30 p.m.

Several Radio Club of America members will be receiving awards this year:

  • Donald C. Cox PhD will be receiving the Armstrong Medal.  The Armstrong Medal was first presented in 1935 and has been awarded 42 times since then to members for an important contribution to radio art and science.
  • Andrew Seybold will be receiving the Sarnoff Citation
  • Timothy Duffy will be receiving the Barry Goldwater Award
  • Stephen Meer will be receiving the President’s Award
  • Richard Somers will be presented with the Special Recognition Award
  • Paulla Nelson-Shira will be presented with the Special Service Award

Several members have been elevated to Fellows in 2010, joining our president Lawrence Behr who is a Fellow and longtime Radio Club of America member.   Timothy Duffy, William Lieske Jr., Louis Manno, Richard Mirgon, John J. Sullivan, Larry Weber and Don McFarland will all be attending the Banquet to accept their Fellow plaques in person.

Other events at the Radio Club of America Banquet include a Silent Auction at 1 p.m. in the Ragchew Room and will also be present at the cocktail party.  The Technical Symposium will begin at 3 p.m. with presentations covering emerging technologies, a historical perspective of relevant technological developments leading up to the present and various uses of radio technology.

A few weeks ago we announced that the Wireless History Foundation (WHF) would be inducting four members, including Raymond Trott into the Wireless Hall of Fame.  Raymond C. Trott, RF engineering pioneer and founder of Trott Communications Group.  Trott Communications offers engineering and consulting services, along with tower leasing and management in the mobile communications industry.  Ray Trott is President Emeritus, has been a Radio Club of America member since 1976 and a Fellow since 1978. Ray received the Presidents’ Award in 2006 and is still involved with the Radio Club of America Committees involvement.

The other three Wireless Hall of Fame 2010 inductees are:

  • LeRoy T. Carlson, founder and chairman emeritus of Telephone and Data Systems and founder of U.S. Cellular
  • Edward Samuel “Ted” Rogers Jr. (posthumously), president and CEO of Rogers Communications
  • Stanley T. Sigman, retired president and CEO of AT&T Mobility

LBA would like to congratulate all of the awards recipients, Fellows, and Wireless Hall of Fame inductees.

About The Author

Avatar photo

LBA Group, Inc. has 50 years of experience in providing RF asset solutions and risk management for industrial and telecommunications infrastructure assets. The group is comprised of LBA Technology, a leading manufacturer and integrator of radio frequency systems, lightning protection and EMC equipment for broadcast, industrial and government users worldwide; the professional consultancy Lawrence Behr Associates and LBA University, providing on-site and online professional training. The companies are based in Greenville, N.C., USA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.